RoleFalcon
All jobsIT jobsBrowseCompanies
English

How to Become a Physical Therapist (PT) in the US

A physical therapist (PT) helps people move better and with less pain after an injury, surgery or illness. You examine patients, plan treatment, teach exercises and track progress. The job suits people who like science, physical work and long contact with the same patients.

This guide covers the US path: the degree, the exam, the state licence, and what employers ask for in open jobs.

Step-by-step: how to get in

The BLS says you need a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) degree and a state licence (checked October 2026).

  1. Finish a bachelor's degree with the prerequisites. Most DPT programs ask for a bachelor's degree first. The BLS names typical prerequisites such as anatomy, chemistry and physics. Each program sets its own list, so check it early.
  1. Get observation hours. Many programs want proof that you have watched a PT at work. Volunteer or work as an aide in a clinic or hospital. It also shows you if the job is right for you.
  1. Complete an accredited DPT program. DPT programs typically take 3 years (checked October 2026). The program must be accredited, or you cannot sit the national exam. Part of the program is clinical work with real patients. Treat each placement as a job interview.
  1. Register for the NPTE. The National Physical Therapy Examination is run by the FSBPT. The registration fee for the PT exam is $485, plus a 1.6% processing fee (checked October 2026). After registration you get a letter that tells you how to book a test date.
  1. Get your state licence. Every state requires a licence. Some states also ask for a law exam and a criminal background check (checked October 2026). Fees and steps differ, so check the board in your state.
  1. Get BLS or CPR certified. Many employers ask for it. Keep the card valid.
  1. Apply for your first job. Common first settings are outpatient clinics, hospitals, skilled nursing facilities and home health. Use the words employers use: "new grad", "outpatient", "acute care", "PRN". Ask about mentoring for new graduates.

Entry level

What the job is. You see a full schedule of patients. You do evaluations, write a plan of care, treat, and write notes in the EHR. You may supervise PT assistants (PTAs) and aides.

What employers ask for. An active PT licence (or eligibility for one), a DPT, and BLS or CPR.

What to learn next. Fast and clear documentation. Billing basics. Managing a full caseload on time.

Mid level

What changes. You take harder cases, train students and new staff, and often choose a specialty, such as orthopedics, neurology, sports or geriatrics.

What employers ask for. Experience in the setting of the job. Some postings prefer a specialist certification.

What to learn next. A specialty. Board certification is optional and most PTs take it after some work experience (checked October 2026).

Senior level

What changes. You move into a named role, such as clinic director, rehab manager or lead therapist. Some PTs open their own practice or teach.

What employers ask for. Years of clinical work, people management, and knowledge of billing and compliance.

What to learn next. Budgets, staffing and quality rules. Compliance and HIPAA (patient privacy law).

US rules: licence, compact and continuing education

  • The licence is issued by the state. There is no federal PT licence. Apply to the board in the state where you want to work.
  • The PT Compact. A compact privilege lets you work in other member states on your home-state licence. The compact listed 38 jurisdictions that issue and accept privileges (checked October 2026). Some other states have passed the law but do not issue privileges yet. If a state is not active, you need its own licence.
  • Continuing education. Most states ask for continuing education to keep the licence (checked October 2026). The hours and rules differ by state.
  • PTs educated abroad usually need a review of their education and must pass the NPTE. The state board decides the steps. You also need a US work permit or visa.

Common mistakes

  • Choosing a program that is not accredited. You cannot sit the NPTE without an accredited DPT.
  • Missing a prerequisite. Each program has its own list. Check it before your last year of college.
  • Forgetting the law exam. Some states require it in addition to the NPTE.
  • Assuming the compact covers every state. Only active member states accept privileges. Check the map before you accept a job in another state.
  • Letting BLS or CPR expire. An expired card can stop a hire.
  • Taking a job without asking about productivity targets. Some settings expect many patient visits per day. Ask before you sign.

FAQ

What degree do I need to become a physical therapist in the US? You need a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) degree from an accredited program. Most programs take about 3 years, and most students start them after a bachelor's degree.

How much does the NPTE cost? The FSBPT registration fee for the PT exam is $485, plus a small processing fee (checked October 2026). Your state board charges its own licence fee.

How much do physical therapists earn in the US? The BLS median was $102,760 a year, or $49.40 an hour, in May 2025 (checked October 2026).

Can I work as a PT in more than one state? Yes, with a compact privilege if your home state is in the PT Compact. The compact listed 38 jurisdictions that issue and accept privileges (checked October 2026). Otherwise you need a licence from each state.

Is board certification required for physical therapists? No. Specialist certification, for example in orthopedics or sports, is optional. Most PTs take it after some years of work.

Find a job

Our postings come from employers' own career pages.

What employers ask for

Live data: Physical therapist (US)

515 open postings on RoleFalcon. Updated .

Workplace

Workplace not stated48795%
On-site204%
Hybrid51%
Remote31%

Seniority

Not stated43384%
Entry398%
Senior265%
Staff112%
Mid61%

Top skills

Patient care21742%
EHR19838%
Home care10821%
CPR10120%
Skilled nursing8316%
BLS489%
Office administration347%
First aid122%

Companies hiring most

BAYADA Home Health Care14228%
Benchmark Physical Therapy14127%
Integrity Rehab Group377%
InHome Therapy347%
Adaptive Home Health285%

Median salary range

LevelRangePostings
Not statedUSD 64–70 / hour184
Not statedUSD 80K–95K / month99
Not statedUSD 88.9K–100K / year87

Almost every PT posting asks for an active state licence or eligibility for one. BLS or CPR is a common extra requirement. Many titles name the setting, for example "Outpatient", "Home Health" or "Acute Care", and the schedule, for example "PRN" or "Full-Time". Remote PT jobs are rare, because the work is done with patients.

For a national pay reference, the BLS median for physical therapists was $49.40 per hour, or $102,760 per year, in May 2025 (checked October 2026).

See open jobs