How to Become a Medical Assistant (MA) in the US
A medical assistant (MA) helps doctors and nurses run a clinic. You take vital signs, prepare patients for exams, draw blood, give some injections, and update the patient record. You also book appointments and answer calls. The job suits people who like fast, practical work with many patients each day.
This guide covers the US path: training, certification, state rules, and what employers ask for in open jobs.
Step-by-step: how to get in
The BLS says most medical assistants have a postsecondary certificate, and some learn on the job with a high school diploma (checked October 2026).
- Finish high school or a GED. Every certification route asks for it.
- Choose a training program. Community colleges, vocational schools and universities offer them. Programs generally take about 1 to 2 years (checked October 2026). Pick a program accredited by CAAHEP or ABHES if you want the CMA (AAMA) later. Without that accreditation, you cannot take the CMA exam by the education route.
- Do the externship. Most programs include unpaid work in a clinic. This is where you learn to room patients and draw blood under supervision. Many clinics hire their externs, so treat it as a job interview.
- Get certified. Certification is not required in most states, but many employers prefer or require it (checked October 2026). The three main options are listed in the US rules section below.
- Get BLS or CPR certified. Some employers require Basic Life Support. Keep the card valid.
- Apply for your first job. Common places are family practice, urgent care, specialty clinics and hospital outpatient departments. Use the words employers use: "clinical MA", "back office", "front office", "rooming", "phlebotomy".
Entry level
What the job is. You room patients, take vital signs and history, prepare the exam room, assist the provider, and record everything in the EHR. In smaller clinics you also check patients in and schedule.
What employers ask for. A certificate or certification, BLS or CPR, and basic EHR skills.
What to learn next. Phlebotomy (drawing blood). Injections. Fast and accurate charting.
Mid level
What changes. You work faster, handle more complex specialties, train new MAs, and may run a team of rooms for one provider.
What employers ask for. A national certification, experience in a specialty (for example cardiology, dermatology or pediatrics), and sometimes bilingual skills.
What to learn next. A specialty. Prior authorizations and referrals. Basic coding and billing.
Senior level
What changes. You move into a lead MA, clinic supervisor or practice manager role. Some MAs go back to school for nursing or another licensed role.
What employers ask for. Years of work, scheduling of staff, and knowledge of clinic rules.
What to learn next. People management. Compliance and HIPAA (patient privacy law). If you plan to become a nurse, check the prerequisites of nursing programs early. See how to become a registered nurse in the US.
US rules: certification and state differences
- There is no federal MA licence. Most states do not require certification. Some states require an accredited program, a licence, a certification or other steps before you can do certain tasks (checked October 2026). Check your state before you choose a program.
- CMA (AAMA). The eligibility route is a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program. The exam fee is $125 for students, recent graduates and AAMA members, and $250 for other candidates (checked October 2026). You must recertify every 60 months.
- RMA (AMT). The fee is $150 and includes the application, the exam and the first annual fee (checked October 2026). AMT accepts several routes, including an accredited program or 3 years of MA work in the past 7 years.
- CCMA (NHA). You need a high school diploma or GED and either an MA program in the past 5 years or supervised work experience (checked October 2026). The exam fee is shown on the NHA site.
Common mistakes
- Choosing a program without accreditation. You can still work, but you lose the education route to the CMA (AAMA).
- Skipping certification because the state does not require it. Many employers prefer or require it.
- Not checking state rules for tasks. Some states limit tasks such as injections or X-rays unless you meet extra rules.
- Letting a certification lapse. Each body has its own renewal cycle. A lapse can mean a reactivation fee or a new exam.
- Letting BLS or CPR expire. An expired card can stop a hire.
- Expecting remote work. Clinical MA work is done with patients.
FAQ
Do I need a degree to become a medical assistant in the US? No. Most medical assistants finish a certificate program. These programs generally take 1 to 2 years. Some people start with a high school diploma and learn on the job.
Is certification required for medical assistants? Not in most states. Many employers still prefer or require it. Some states have their own rules, so check your state.
Which certification should I get, CMA, RMA or CCMA? All three are national. The CMA (AAMA) needs an accredited program. The RMA (AMT) and the CCMA (NHA) also accept work experience. Look at what employers in your area ask for.
How much do medical assistants earn in the US? The BLS median was $45,690 a year, or $21.97 an hour, in May 2025 (checked October 2026). Most MA postings give an hourly rate.
Can a medical assistant work remotely? Rarely. Clinical MA work is done with patients. Some administrative roles allow part of the work from home.
Find a job
Our postings come from employers' own career pages.
What employers ask for
Live data: Medical assistant (US)
292 open postings on RoleFalcon. Updated .
Workplace
| Workplace not stated | 272 | 93% |
| On-site | 9 | 3% |
| Remote | 6 | 2% |
| Hybrid | 5 | 2% |
Seniority
| Not stated | 158 | 54% |
| Entry | 88 | 30% |
| Mid | 40 | 14% |
| Senior | 5 | 2% |
| Staff | 1 | 0% |
Top skills
| Patient care | 213 | 73% |
| EHR | 199 | 68% |
| Phlebotomy | 113 | 39% |
| HIPAA | 112 | 38% |
| Customer service | 104 | 36% |
| BLS | 85 | 29% |
| CPR | 80 | 27% |
| Medication administration | 45 | 15% |
Top tools
| Excel | 49 | 17% |
Top certifications
| Nursing registration | 1 | 0% |
Companies hiring most
| ConvenientMD | 34 | 12% |
| Eye Care Partners Career Opportunities | 32 | 11% |
| PhyNet Dermatology LLC (External) | 19 | 7% |
| USA Clinics Group | 17 | 6% |
| Hometown Urgent Care | 15 | 5% |
Median salary range
| Level | Range | Postings |
|---|---|---|
| Not stated | USD 23–26 / hour | 73 |
| Entry | USD 20.22–26 / hour | 53 |
| Mid | USD 22–25 / hour | 32 |
Many MA postings ask for a national certification such as CMA, RMA or CCMA, or for one within a set time after hire. BLS or CPR is a common extra requirement. Titles often name the setting, for example "Clinical", "Back Office" or "Urgent Care", and the schedule, for example "Full-Time" or "PRN". Most postings give an hourly rate.
For a national pay reference, the BLS median for medical assistants was $21.97 per hour, or $45,690 per year, in May 2025 (checked October 2026).