RoleFalconAll jobsIT jobsBrowseCompaniesUpdated 5 min agoSign in

How to Become a Behavior Technician (RBT) in the US

A behavior technician works one to one with clients, most often children with autism. You follow a treatment plan written by a supervisor, use applied behavior analysis (ABA) methods, and record data after each session. The job suits people who are patient, like structured work, and want an entry into healthcare or psychology without a degree.

What employers ask for right now

Live data: Behavior technician (US)

1,193 open postings on RoleFalcon. Updated .

Workplace

Workplace not stated1,04087%
On-site14712%
Hybrid40%
Remote20%

Seniority

Not stated1,08291%
Entry1069%
Senior40%
Mid10%

Top skills

BCBA1,10092%
Behavior analysis92477%
CPR84871%
Board certified84271%
First aid77465%
ABA47440%
CNA certification11810%
Disability support686%

Companies hiring most

Centria Autism70459%
OOS Management Corp.776%
Finni Health716%
Alpaca Health595%
ICBD424%

Median salary range

LevelRangePostings
Not statedUSD 19–24 / hour1,050
EntryUSD 21–21.4 / hour87

Pay. Most postings give an hourly rate, not a yearly salary. Posted ranges are what employers write in the posting. They are not take-home pay. Many roles are part-time, so weekly income depends on how many session hours you get.

Where you work. The work is almost always in person: in a clinic, at the client's home, or at school. Almost all postings that state a workplace type are onsite.

What employers ask for. CPR and first aid are among the most common requirements. If you get them before you apply, you remove one reason to reject you. Many postings also mention ABA. Experience with disability support or special education helps. Postings often mention "BCBA" or "board certified", but that describes the supervisor, not a requirement for you.

Who is hiring. Most employers are ABA therapy providers, such as autism centers and clinics that also offer home-based therapy.

Typical titles: "Registered Behavior Technician (RBT)", "Behavior Technician - BT - Full-Time".

Step-by-step: how to get in

The national credential is the Registered Behavior Technician (RBT), issued by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB). All rules below come from the RBT Handbook (updated 06/2026) unless another link is given.

  1. Check that you are eligible. You must be 18 or older and have at least a high school education.
  2. Pass a criminal background check and an abuse registry check. Each must be done no more than 180 days before you pay for the application. The BACB does not require fingerprints, but your state or employer may.
  3. Complete the 40-hour training. It must follow the "RBT 2026 40-Hour Training Requirements and Curriculum Outline". You must finish it in no less than 5 days and no more than 180 days. Many ABA employers run this training for new hires, often paid. That is the cheapest route.
  4. Pass the Initial Competency Assessment. A qualified assessor checks your skills after the training. The attestation form must be signed no more than 90 days before you pay for the application.
  5. Apply to the BACB. The application fee is $65 (checked October 2026).
  6. Book and pass the exam. You take it through Pearson VUE (BACB RBT page). The handbook gives the details: each appointment costs $45 (checked October 2026). The exam has 85 multiple-choice questions (75 scored, 10 unscored) and lasts 90 minutes. It follows the RBT Test Content Outline (3rd ed.). You have 1 year after approval to sit it. If you fail, you have a maximum of 8 attempts in total within 12 months after your application is approved, with at least 7 days between attempts.
  7. Start work under supervision. You cannot practice alone. See the supervision rules below.

Minimum fixed cost: $65 + $45 = $110 for one exam attempt (checked October 2026), plus the training and the checks. The price of the training and the checks depends on the provider and the state.

Entry level

This is an entry job. You do not need a degree, and many employers hire people without experience and train them.

At this level you:

  • Run sessions from a plan written by a BCBA or BCaBA.
  • Collect data on each target behavior and skill.
  • Use de-escalation methods when a client is upset.
  • Write session notes. Some employers use electronic health records (EHR) and expect you to follow HIPAA privacy rules.

What employers ask for: the RBT credential or a plan to get it, CPR and first aid, a reliable car for home sessions, and flexible afternoon hours (after school is when many children have therapy). Experience with children, disability support or special education helps.

Supervision does not stop after you are certified. Each calendar month, a supervisor must oversee at least 5% of your service hours. There must be at least 2 face-to-face, real-time contacts. In at least one, the supervisor watches you work, and at least one must be individual (one to one).

Mid level

In practice, the next step after a year or two as an RBT is usually one of these:

  • Senior or lead technician. You help train new staff and take harder cases. This is an employer title, not a separate BACB credential.
  • BCaBA. The Board Certified Assistant Behavior Analyst is an undergraduate-level certification. A BCaBA practices under BCBA supervision.

What the BCaBA needs, from the BCaBA Handbook (updated 29 June 2026):

  • A bachelor's degree or higher.
  • 1,300 hours of Supervised Fieldwork, or 1,000 hours of Concentrated Supervised Fieldwork, which has stricter supervision rules.
  • A $175 application fee and a $125 exam appointment fee, paid to Pearson VUE (checked October 2026).

If you stay an RBT, keep the credential active. The maintenance cycle is 2 years and needs 12 hours of professional development. Check the current renewal fee on bacb.com.

Senior level

The main senior step is the BCBA (Board Certified Behavior Analyst), a graduate-level certification. BCBAs design treatment plans and supervise RBTs. In technician postings, "BCBA" names the supervisor, not a requirement for the technician.

What the BCBA needs, from the BCBA Handbook (updated 29 June 2026):

  • A master's degree or higher.
  • 2,000 hours of Supervised Fieldwork, or 1,500 hours of Concentrated Supervised Fieldwork.
  • A $245 application fee and a $125 exam appointment fee, paid to Pearson VUE (checked October 2026).

The handbook does not give the length of a master's program. Ask each program directly. The BACB has announced changes to BCBA and BCaBA requirements for 2027, and both handbooks have a section on them. Read it before you choose a graduate program.

Country-specific rules: the US

  • The RBT is a BACB credential, not a state licence. State rules for ABA work can add their own requirements. Ask your employer which state rules apply before you start.
  • Background checks. The BACB requires a criminal background check and an abuse registry check. Your state or employer may also ask for fingerprints.
  • Work permits. The RBT does not give you the right to work in the US. Most employers post local, hourly roles, so plan to have work authorization before you apply.

Common mistakes

  • Paying for training before you have a job offer. Many large ABA employers provide the 40-hour training to new hires. Ask before you buy a course.
  • Letting the background check expire. The checks must be within 180 days before you pay for the application. If you wait too long after the training, you may need new checks.
  • Applying before you meet all requirements. A BACB application stays active for 90 days. If you do not meet all requirements in that time, you must apply again and pay a new fee.
  • Missing the 90-day window for the attestation form. It must be signed no more than 90 days before you pay for the application.
  • Ignoring the car and schedule. Home-based roles need travel between clients. Many postings, such as "Part-Time, Afternoons", depend on after-school hours.
  • Treating certification as the finish line. You must keep monthly supervision, complete 12 hours of professional development every 2 years and renew on time.
  • Skipping CPR and first aid. Many postings ask for them.

FAQ

Do I need a college degree to become an RBT? No. The BACB asks for at least a high school education, an age of 18 or older, and passed background and abuse registry checks.

How much does the RBT certification cost? The BACB application fee is $65 and each Pearson VUE exam appointment costs $45 (checked October 2026). The 40-hour training is separate and its price depends on the provider. Many employers provide it.

How long does it take to become an RBT? The 40-hour training must take at least 5 days and no more than 180 days. After that you need the competency assessment, the application review and the exam. The minimum is 5 days of training plus the time these three steps take.

What is the difference between a behavior technician and an RBT? Behavior technician is a job title. RBT is a BACB credential. Some employers hire uncertified behavior technicians and then help them get the RBT.

How much do behavior technicians earn in the US? Most postings give an hourly rate, not a yearly salary. The live block on this page shows the current posted pay range. Many roles are part-time, so weekly income depends on how many session hours you get.

Can a behavior technician work remotely? Almost never. The work is direct therapy with a client. Almost all postings that state a workplace type are onsite.

See open jobs