RoleFalconAll jobsIT jobsBrowseCompaniesUpdated 3 min agoSign in

How to Become a Registered Nurse in the UK

A registered nurse in the UK assesses patients, plans and gives care, gives medicines and works with doctors and other staff. You can only use the title "registered nurse" after you join the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) register. If you plan to work in the US instead, the route is different; see how to become a registered nurse in the US.

What employers ask for right now

Live data: Registered nurse (UK)

24 open postings on RoleFalcon. Updated .

Workplace

Workplace not stated2396%
On-site14%

Seniority

Not stated24100%

Top skills

Customer service729%
Medication administration313%
Credentialed vet tech14%
Emergency response14%
Small animal medicine14%

Companies hiring most

Thornbury Community Services1667%
Ellea Nursing729%
ivcevidensia14%

Median salary range

LevelRangePostings
Not statedGBP 35.2–44.06 / hour23

Most UK nurses work for the NHS, and NHS trusts mostly advertise on their own systems. The postings on RoleFalcon therefore lean toward private, community and agency employers. Many of these are community and complex-care roles. In these jobs you often care for one patient with long-term needs at home, for example a child on a ventilator or with a feeding tube.

Agency and complex-care jobs are usually paid per hour. You cannot compare an hourly rate directly with a yearly NHS salary, because agency work often comes without paid leave or an NHS pension. Nurse work is almost always on-site. Employers expect NMC registration first, and then train you on the specific equipment.

Step-by-step: how to get in

  1. Check the entry requirements. For a nursing degree you usually need 5 GCSEs at grade 4/C or above and 2 A levels or a level 3 equivalent (NHS Health Careers). Each university sets its own grades, so check the course page.
  2. Choose your field. UK nursing degrees are in one of four fields: adult, children's, mental health or learning disability. Your field decides which part of the register you join. If community paediatric work interests you, choose children's nursing.
  3. Choose a route. - BSc (Hons) nursing degree: 3 years full time. This is the usual route. - Postgraduate MSc: 2 years, if you already have a degree in another subject. - Nurse degree apprenticeship: about 4 years. You work and study at the same time. You first need a nursing degree apprentice post with an employer, and the employer then releases you to study at university part time. If you already hold a level 5 nursing associate qualification, the apprenticeship can be shorter, sometimes 2 years (Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals). - Nursing associate apprenticeship first: a way to start working in care earlier and then top up to registered nurse later (NHS Health Careers).
  4. Plan the money. Eligible students get at least £5,000 a year that they do not pay back (NHS Health Careers). Check your own eligibility, because it depends on where you live and study.
  5. Finish your placements. The NMC requires a programme of at least 4,600 hours, split equally between theory and practice, with no less than 2,300 hours of practice learning (NMC standards for pre-registration nursing programmes).
  6. Register with the NMC. When you finish an approved course, your university confirms it to the NMC and you apply to join the register. The annual fee is £120 (checked October 2026) (NMC fees consultation FAQs). The NMC has proposed a rise to £143, not before 1 October 2026, so check the current fee.
  7. Apply for your first post. Newly qualified nurses usually start at band 5 (NHS Health Careers).

Entry level

At entry level you are a newly qualified nurse on band 5. In 2025/26, band 5 pays £31,049 to £37,796 a year (checked October 2026) (NHS Employers). Check whether a 2026/27 table is out before you compare offers.

What employers ask for at this level:

  • Active NMC registration.
  • Safe medication administration.
  • Basic life support and clear written records.
  • For community and complex-care roles: the ability to work alone in a patient's home and to talk well with the family, parents and carers.

What to learn next: get a full year in one setting before you move. Ask for training on the equipment your area uses, such as tracheostomy care, ventilators or enteral feeding if you want complex care.

Mid level

After some years you can apply for band 6 roles, for example a senior staff nurse, a community nurse with a caseload, or a specialist nurse. In 2025/26, band 6 pays £38,682 to £46,580 a year (checked October 2026) (NHS Employers).

Senior level

Band 7 roles include ward manager, advanced practitioner and clinical nurse specialist. In 2025/26, band 7 pays £47,810 to £54,710 a year (checked October 2026) (NHS Employers).

Country-specific rules: NMC registration and nurses trained abroad

Nursing is a regulated profession in the UK. You need NMC registration to work as a registered nurse in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

If you trained outside the UK, the NMC asks you to (NMC):

  1. Show that you can communicate in English.
  2. Pass the Test of Competence. Part 1 is a computer-based test (CBT). Part 2 is a practical exam, the OSCE.
  3. Meet the health and character requirements.
  4. Complete a face-to-face ID check at a test centre.
  5. Arrange professional indemnity.

English tests. The NMC accepts IELTS with 7.0 overall, 7.0 in reading, listening and speaking and 6.5 in writing. It accepts OET with grade B in reading, listening and speaking and C+ in writing (OET). This source is the test provider, so confirm the current rules on the NMC website before you book.

CBT fee. The CBT costs £83 for both parts. A resit costs £50 for Part A only and £70 for Part B only (checked October 2026) (NMC).

OSCE fee. Independent test centres set the OSCE fee (NMC fees consultation FAQs). Ask your test centre for the current price.

Work permits. NMC registration lets you practise. It does not give you the right to work in the UK. To work as a nurse you usually need a Health and Care Worker visa. For this visa you need a confirmed job offer and a certificate of sponsorship from a UK employer that the Home Office has approved (GOV.UK). Ask the employer about sponsorship before you apply, because not every agency or private provider can sponsor.

Common mistakes

  • Choosing the wrong field. Adult, children's, mental health and learning disability are separate parts of the register. If you want paediatric community work, you need children's nursing.
  • Comparing an hourly agency rate with an NHS yearly salary. A high hourly rate can look better than it is. Check the hours, the paid leave, the pension and the travel time before you compare.
  • Applying to a college for an apprenticeship. You first need an apprentice post with an employer. The employer then releases you to study at university.
  • Booking the OSCE before your English result is ready. The NMC asks for evidence of English as part of your application. Plan the order of steps and their costs before you pay.
  • Trusting old fee figures. NMC and test centre fees change. The NMC registration fee is under review in 2026.
  • Assuming registration means a visa. They are two separate processes.

FAQ

How long does it take to become a registered nurse in the UK? The usual route is a 3-year full-time degree. Graduates can take a 2-year MSc. A nurse degree apprenticeship usually takes about 4 years.

Do I have to pay back NHS student support for nursing? Eligible students get at least £5,000 a year that they do not pay back. Tuition fees and maintenance loans follow the normal student finance rules.

What band does a newly qualified nurse start on? Usually band 5, which pays £31,049 to £37,796 a year in 2025/26 (checked October 2026).

Can a nurse trained outside the UK work as a nurse in the UK? Yes, after NMC registration. You need an English test result, the Test of Competence (CBT and OSCE), health and character checks, an ID check and professional indemnity. Most nurses from abroad also need a visa, such as the Health and Care Worker visa, with a sponsoring employer.

What English score does the NMC accept? IELTS 7.0 overall with 6.5 in writing and 7.0 in the other parts, or OET grade B with C+ in writing. Check the NMC website before you book.

How much does NMC registration cost? The annual fee is £120 (checked October 2026). A rise to £143 has been proposed, with no change before 1 October 2026.

See open jobs